LGBT Community Leaders Unite Behind Brad Schneider (IL-10)


Praise Schneider as a leader whose “actions speak louder than words”

 NORTHBROOK, IL–Today Democrat Brad Schneider proudly announced earning endorsements from nearly two dozen important leaders from the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender community.   

“I could not be prouder to have the support of so many of Illinois’s LGBT leaders,” said Schneider. “Marriage equality, employment security, and ensuring individuals are treated equally no matter their sexual preference have always been top priorities for me. I look forward to returning to Congress to continue our progress on these critical issues.”  

"Action speaks louder than words,” said former Equality Illinois CEO Bernard Cherkasov. “And when it comes to the struggle for equal treatment for LGBT individuals, it makes a difference whether a candidate does more than just occasionally say the right thing. Brad Schneider has stood up for our rights, championed pro-equality legislation in Congress, and continues to do all he can to secure a lived equality for LGBT Americans. I am proud to support him."

 Illinois LGBT Community Leaders Endorsing Brad Schneider:

 Hon. Kelly Cassidy

Hon. James Cappleman

Hon. Rocco Claps

Hon. Greg Harris

Hon. Ray Lopez

Hon. Deb Mell 

Hon. Debra Shore

Bernard Cherkasov, Executive Director of Cradles to Crayons & Former CEO of Equality Illinois

Austin Baidas, Former Illinois Associate Budget Director

Nicole Bashor, Chair of Equality Illinois PAC

Jim Bennett, Lambda Legal Midwest Director

Anthony D'Amato, Board Chair of Equality Illinois Institute

Grant Gochnauer, Board Chair of Equality Illinois 

Imani Rupert Gordon, Executive Director of Affinity Community Services

Art Johnston, Founder of Equality Illinois and Business Leader

Christina Kahrl, Sports Journalist

Liz Lassner, Community and Business Leader

Mary Morten, Community Leader

David Munar, CEO of HowardBrown 

John Peller, CEO of AIDS Foundation of Chicago 

Victor Salvo, Founder and Executive Director of The Legacy Pr